Southeastern's Sebastian, Roberson Receive FCS ADA All-America Honors

Southeastern's Sebastian, Roberson Receive FCS ADA All-America Honors
Photo provided by staff
Tuesday, December 17, 2013 - 10:45pm

      After helping the Southeastern Louisiana football team to its first playoff appearance and the most wins in school history, Lion senior kicker Seth Sebastian and sophomore kick returner/running back Xavier Roberson were among the 11 student-athletes to receive the inaugural Division I Football Championship Subdivision Athletics Directors Association (FCS ADA) All-America Award, the FCS ADA announced on Tuesday.


For the first time, the FCS ADA, in coordination with the 13 FCS conference offices, are recognizing the top student-athletes from its institutions at 11 different positions with the All-America award. The inaugural class includes student-athletes from nine different institutions, representing five different conferences.


Southeastern and Eastern Illinois were the only programs to have multiple players recognized. Voting was conducted by a national panel, consisting of media and sports information directors.


Sebastian, who hails from Lafayette, was honored as the nation’s best placekicker after a near-perfect 2013. The first team All-Southland Conference selection was 16-for-18 on field goals and 66-of-67 on point after touchdowns, setting single season records for PAT’s made, PAT’s attempted, points (114) and field goal percentage (88.9). The four-year starter finished his career as the school’s career leader with 289 career points. 


Roberson, an Atlanta native, was selected as the top return specialist in the country. He led the nation and set new single-season school records with a 35.2 kickoff return average and three kickoff return touchdowns. In just his second season, he has already set a new Southland career record with five kickoff return touchdowns. A first team All-Southland choice at kick returner and all-purpose player, Roberson averaged 113.6 all-purpose yards per game and was second on the team with 10 touchdowns. 


Walter Payton Award winner and Eastern Illinois quarterback Jimmy Garoppolo, as well as Buck Buchanan Award recipient Brad Daly of Montana State were among the other honorees. Also honored were Towson running back Terrance West, North Dakota State offensive lineman Billy Turner, Southern Illinois tight end Mycole Pruitt, EIU wide receiver Erik Lora, James Madison linebacker Stephon Robertson, Tennessee State defensive back Daniel Fitzpatrick and Portland State punter Kyle Loomis.


Comments News Comments

Post new Comment