Satellite Satellite

Aaron Brooks, John Carney elected to Saints Hall of Fame

Aaron Brooks, John Carney elected to Saints Hall of Fame
Photo provided by staff

POSTED: Tuesday, May 20, 2014 - 2:48pm

UPDATED: Wednesday, May 21, 2014 - 8:54am

Former New Orleans Saints quarterback Aaron Brooks and kicker John Carney have been elected to the Saints Hall of Fame for the Class of 2014. The selections were made by the Saints Hall of Fame Media Selection Committee.

Brooks became the Saints’ starting quarterback in November 2000, and six weeks later, he led the team to its first-ever playoff victory, a 31-28 triumph over the defending Super Bowl champion St. Louis Rams in the Superdome. The former University of Virginia standout would remain behind center in New Orleans for the next five seasons, starting a total of 82 regular-season games for the Black and Gold.

Brooks ended his Saints career by completing 56.4 percent of his passes for 19,156 yards, 120 touchdowns and 84 interceptions. His touchdown total ranks second and his yardage total third in Saints history. Brooks’ best season statistically was in 2003, when he completed a career-best 59.1 percent of his pass attempts and he had an NFL-low interception rate of 1.5 percent.

Carney spent all or part of eight seasons (2001-06, 09-10) with the Saints as part of a 23-year NFL career in which he became one of only three players in history to play in four different decades and became one of seven players to score more than 2,000 career points.

A product of Notre Dame, Carney connected on a franchise record 82.8 percent of his field goal attempts as a Saint. His 168 field goals made, 203 attempts and 768 points scored all rank second in team history.

Of the 471 placement attempts in Carney’s career as a Saint, perhaps his most famous was the game-winning field goal in the 2005 season opener against Carolina, 13 days after the region was ravaged by Hurricane Katrina. Coincidentally, an image of Brooks congratulating Carney after his game-winning kick graced the cover of the Sept. 19, 2005, issue of Sports Illustrated. Overall, Carney booted six game-winning field goals within the last 10 seconds of a contest since he joined the club in 2001.

The induction will take place at a date to be determined during the 2014 NFL season.

The Saints Hall of Fame Museum is located at Gate B on the Plaza Level of the Mercedes-Benz Superdome and is open by appointment during the week (Monday-Friday) between 10 a.m.-3 p.m. at a cost of $7 per person or $5 for seniors, children under 12 and for groups of 10 or more. For more information, call (504) 471-2192.

AARON BROOKS (2000-05—6 seasons)

· Quarterbacked Saints to first playoff victory in franchise history in 2000 vs. St. Louis

· Ranks second in franchise history with 120 passing touchdowns

· Ranks third in Saints history with 19,156 passing yards

· Had 10 career 300-yard passing games as a Saint, second-most in team history

· Set then-franchise record with 441 passing yards vs Denver, Dec. 3, 2000

· Shares team record for pass attempts in a game (60)


JOHN CARNEY (2001-06, 09-10—8 seasons)

· Saints’ career leader in field goal percentage (.828)

· Ranks second in team history in points (768), field goals made (168), field goals attempted (203) and points after touchdown (264)

· Shares team record for field goals made in a season (31 in 2002)

· Kicked record-tying five field goals in a game on three occasions

· Kicked game-winning field goal in 2005 season opener at Carolina, Saints’ first game after Katrina

· As a Saint, kicked six game-winning field goals within the last 10 seconds of a contest.




1988—Archie Manning and Danny Abramowicz

1989—Tommy Myers and Tom Dempsey

1990—Billy Kilmer

1991—Tony Galbreath and Derland Moore

1992—George Rogers, Jake Kupp and John Hill

1993—Joe Federspiel

1994—Henry Childs and Jim Finks

1995—Doug Atkins and Bob Pollard

1996—Dave Whitsell and Dave Waymer

1997—Stan Brock and Rickey Jackson

1998—Dalton Hilliard and Sam Mills

1999—Bobby Hebert and Eric Martin

2000—Pat Swilling and Vaughan Johnson

2001—Jim Wilks and Hoby Brenner

2002—Jim Mora and Frank Warren

2003—Jim Dombrowski and Wayne Martin

2004—Rueben Mayes and Steve Sidwell

**2005—No induction due to Hurricane Katrina

2006—Joel Hilgenberg

2007—Joe Johnson

2008—William Roaf

2009—Morten Andersen

2010—Joe Horn

2011—Sammy Knight

2012—Tom Benson and Deuce McAllister

2013—La’Roi Glover  

Comments News Comments

Aaron Brooks --- are you kidding me? That was the most UNDER-achieving Saint ever, except for Chuck Muncie. Please tell me that this is nothing but a BIG joke!

Post new Comment