Roberts of Southeastern named finalist for Eddie Robinson Award

Roberts of Southeastern named finalist for Eddie Robinson Award
Photo provided by NBC33 Staff
Friday, November 22, 2013 - 1:46pm

Southeastern Louisiana head football coach Ron Roberts has been named a finalist for the Eddie Robinson Award, the Sports Network announced on Tuesday.

The Eddie Robinson Award, named for the late legendary Grambling coach, is awarded to the top coach in the Football Championship Subdivision. Voting will reflect only regular-season results and will be conducted by a national panel of sports information and media relations directors, broadcasters, writers and other dignitaries.

The winner will be announced at The Sports Network FCS Awards Banquet and Presentation to be held Dec. 16 in Philadelphia.

In just his second season in Hammond, Roberts has led the No. 8/10 Lions (9-2, 6-0 Southland) to at least a share of its first conference championship since 1961 and its first-ever playoff berth.

Roberts has led his team to a 3-1 team record versus current nationally-ranked teams, including a pair of road victories. The Lions are currently on an eight-game winning streak and have won seven straight by double-digit margins.

Roberts is one of 20 finalists for the award and is joined among the group by fellow Southland Conference coach Matt Viator of McNeese State.

Roberts and the Lions will look to claim sole possession of the Southland Conference title on Thursday at 6 p.m., when it hosts Nicholls State for the River Bell Classic.

The 2013 Eddie Robinson Award candidates:

Dino Babers, Eastern Illinois
Beau Baldwin, Eastern Washington
Craig Bohl, North Dakota State
Jamey Chadwell, Charleston Southern
Jack Cosgrove, Maine
Bruce Fowler, Furman
Jay Hopson, Alcorn State
Russ Huesman, Tennessee at Chattanooga
Bobby Lamb, Mercer
Ed Lamb, Southern Utah
Jimmye Laycock, William & Mary
Joe Moglia, Coastal Carolina
Joe Moorhead, Fordham
Jim Parady, Marist
Buddy Pough, South Carolina State
Rod Reed, Tennessee State
Ron Roberts, Southeastern Louisiana
Bob Surace, Princeton
Matt Viator, McNeese State
Eric Wolford, Youngstown State

Comments News Comments

Post new Comment