Theriot adds to LSU World Series legacy with second straight title

Theriot adds to LSU World Series legacy with second straight title

POSTED: Monday, October 29, 2012 - 11:00am

UPDATED: Monday, October 29, 2012 - 11:04am

Former LSU star Ryan Theriot earned a World Series ring for the second year in a row Sunday night when the San Francisco Giants completed a four-game sweep of the Detroit Tigers with a 4-3, 10-inning victory at Comerica Park in Detroit.

Theriot, the Giants’ DH on Sunday, singled to lead off the top of the 10th and scored the eventual winning run on Marco Scutaro’s two-out single.

Theriot also won a World Series title last season with the St. Louis Cardinals when they defeated the Texas Rangers in seven games.

Theriot, an infielder who played at LSU from 1999-2001, batted .270 for the Giants during the regular season with 45 runs scored, 28 RBI and 13 stolen bases. He appeared in seven games during the 2012 postseason, collecting three hits in 10 at-bats with three RBI.

He hit .271 in 132 games for the Cardinals during the 2011 season with 26 doubles, one triple, one homer, 47 RBI and 46 runs scored.

The Baton Rouge native appeared in 12 postseason games in 2011, including five in the World Series. He delivered a crucial 10th-inning RBI during the Cardinals’ Game 6 win over the Rangers.

LSU has had former players win World Series titles in each of the past three seasons. Relief ace Brian Wilson and infielder Mike Fontenot helped lead the Giants to the 2010 championship in five games over the Rangers.

Wilson, a three-time National League All-Star, appeared in two games for the Giants at the beginning of the 2012 season before suffering an elbow injury that placed him on the disabled list for the remainder of the year.

Seven other former LSU Tigers have played for World Series championship teams, beginning in 1954 when infielder Alvin Dark helped lead the New York Giants to the title. Twenty years later, Dark managed the Oakland Athletics to the ’74 World Series championship.

Theriot, a member of LSU’s 2000 College World Series championship team, became last season the third former Tiger to win both a CWS and a World Series during their playing careers. Fontenot also played for LSU’s 2000 CWS champions and left-hander Eddie Yarnall, a member of the New York Yankees’ World Series champions in 1999 and 2000, pitched for the Tigers’ 1996 CWS title club.

Following are LSU Tigers who played for World Series championship teams:

MLB World Series Champions from LSU

  • Alvin Dark, New York Giants – 1954 (player); Oakland Athletics – 1974 (manager)
  • Joe Bill Adcock, Milwaukee Braves - 1957
  • Mark Guthrie, Minnesota Twins – 1991
  • Eddie Yarnall, New York Yankees – 1999 and 2000 (College World Series champion at LSU in 1996)
  • Randy Keisler, New York Yankees - 2000
  • RHP Russ Springer, Arizona Diamondbacks - 2001
  • RHP Curtis Leskanic, Boston Red Sox – 2004
  • Brian Wilson, San Francisco Giants – 2010 and 2012
  • Mike Fontenot, San Francisco Giants – 2010 (College World Series champion at LSU in 2000)
  • Ryan Theriot, St. Louis Cardinals – 2011 and San Francisco Giants – 2012 (College World Series champion at LSU in 2000)

Comments News Comments

Post new Comment