Six LSU Tigers recognized on Coaches' All-SEC football teams

Six LSU Tigers recognized on Coaches' All-SEC football teams
Photo provided by staff

POSTED: Tuesday, December 10, 2013 - 9:00pm

UPDATED: Tuesday, December 10, 2013 - 9:04pm

LSU’s Odell Beckham Jr. was named to the Coaches All-Southeastern Conference football first team as an all-purpose and return specialist as the league office unveiled its Coaches All-SEC squads on Tuesday.

In addition, five other Tigers were recognized on the Coaches All-SEC Second Team: wide receiver Jarvis Landry, running back Jeremy Hill, offensive tackle La’el Collins, defensive tackle Anthony Johnson and linebacker Lamin Barrow. Beckham Jr. earned recognition as a second-team All-SEC wide receiver as well.

Beckham Jr. leads the SEC and ranks second nationally in all-purpose yards, averaging 185.2 yards per game. He set the LSU single-season record with 2,222 all-purpose yards and ranks third in SEC single-season history. The New Orleans native is 174 yards away from tying the SEC single-season all-purpose record of 2,396 held by Kentucky’s Randall Cobb in 2010.

Landry leads the Tigers with 75 receptions for 1,172 yards and 10 touchdowns. He proved to arguably be the nation’s top wide receiver on third down, ranking No. 1 nationally with 453 yards, six touchdowns, 15 catches of 15-plus yards and six catches of 25-plus yards on third down this season.

Hill ranks second in the SEC in rushing yards per game with 107.7 and second in rushing touchdowns with 14. After racking up 1,185 yards rushing, he became the first 1,000-yard single-season rusher for LSU since Stevan Ridley. His six 100-yard rushing games this season rank fourth in LSU history, while he is one of only four players in school history to account for double-digit 100-yard rushing games in a career.

Collins started 11 games at left tackle and paved the way for Hill. The junior posted over 50 knockdowns on the year.

Barrow is tops on the team in tackles with 86, including 4.5 tackles for a loss and 1.5 sacks. Johnson started all 12 games at defensive tackle and leads the Tigers with 7.0 tackles for a loss of 33 yards. The junior has also collected 32 total tackles, three sacks, three quarterback hurries and one interception.



TE -  Arthur Lynch, Georgia

OL -  Jake Matthews, Texas A&M

        Cyrus Kouandjio, Alabama

         Gabe Jackson, Mississippi State

         Wesley Johnson, Vanderbilt

 C -    Reese Dismukes, Auburn

WR -  Mike Evans, Texas A&M

         Jordan Matthews, Vanderbilt

QB -  Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M

RB -  Tre Mason, Auburn

         T.J. Yeldon, Alabama

AP -  Odell Beckham, Jr., LSU     


DL -  Michael Sam, Missouri

         Jadeveon Clowney, South Carolina

         Dee Ford, Auburn

         Kelcy Quarles, South Carolina

LB -  C.J. Mosley, Alabama

        Ramik Wilson, Georgia

        A.J. Johnson, Tennessee

DB – Cody Prewitt, Ole Miss

         Ha Ha Clinton-Dix, Alabama

         E.J. Gaines, Missouri

         Vernon Hargreaves, Florida


PK – Marshall Morgan, Georgia    

P -  Drew Kaser, Texas A&M   

RS –  Christion Jones, Alabama *

         Odell Beckham, Jr., LSU *   



TE – Malcolm Johnson, Mississippi State  

OL – La’El Collins, LSU

        Antonio Richardson, Tennessee

        Justin Britt, Missouri

        Anthony Steen, Alabama

C -  Travis Swanson, Arkansas

WR – Odell Beckham, Jr., LSU

         Jarvis Landry, LSU

QB -  AJ McCarron, Alabama

RB -  Mike Davis, South Carolina

         Jeremy Hill, LSU

AP -  Marcus Murphy, Missouri


DL -  Anthony Johnson, LSU

         Chris Smith, Arkansas

         Ed Stinson, Alabama

         Trey Flowers, Arkansas

LB -  Lamin Barrow, LSU

        Jordan Jenkins, Georgia

        Avery Williamson, Kentucky

DB – Andre Hal, Vanderbilt

         Chris Davis, Auburn

         Nickoe Whitley, Mississippi State

         Kenny Ladler, Vanderbilt


PK -  Michael Palardy, Tennessee

P -  Cody Mandell, Alabama

RS –  Solomon Patton, Florida

Comments News Comments

Post new Comment