SEC announces annual baseball honors

SEC announces annual baseball honors
Photo provided by staff

POSTED: Wednesday, May 28, 2014 - 7:00am

UPDATED: Wednesday, May 28, 2014 - 11:51pm

Kentucky’s A.J. Reed was selected 2014 SEC Baseball Player of the Year, Aaron Nola of LSU was named SEC Pitcher of the Year and Florida pitcher Logan Shore was named SEC Freshman of the Year by a vote of the league’s 14 head baseball coaches. The coaches also tabbed Florida head coach Kevin O’Sullivan SEC Coach of the Year. Seth Heck of Mississippi State was named SEC Baseball Scholar-Athlete of the Year.


Florida brought home the program’s 13th SEC Championship and 22nd Eastern Division title. It was the Gators’ first SEC crown since 2011. O’Sullivan’s three titles (2010-11-14) match Dave Fuller (1948-75) for the most in school history. The Gators have now won the East four times in O’Sullivan’s seven years at the helm (2009-10-11-14).


Coaches were not permitted to vote for their own players. The complete 2014 All-SEC Team follows:


SEC PLAYER OF THE YEAR - A.J. Reed, Kentucky


SEC FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR - Logan Shore, Florida

SEC SCHOLAR-ATHLETE OF THE YEAR – Seth Heck, Mississippi State

SEC COACH OF THE YEAR - Kevin O'Sullivan, Florida





1B - Sikes Orvis, Ole Miss

2B - Dansby Swanson, Vanderbilt

3B - Austin Anderson, Ole Miss

SS - Vince Conde, Vanderbilt

C - Taylor Gushue, Florida

OF - Auston Bousfield, Ole Miss

OF - Ka'ai Tom, Kentucky

OF - Christin Stewart, Tennessee

DH/UTL - A.J. Reed, Kentucky

P - Aaron Nola, LSU

P - Logan Shore, Florida

RP - Jacob Lindgren, Mississippi State






1B - Eric Fisher, Arkansas

2B - Brett Pirtle, Mississippi State

3B - Max Kuhn, Kentucky

SS - Alex Bregman, LSU

C - Will Allen, Ole Miss

OF - Ben Moore, Alabama

OF - Harrison Bader, Florida

OF - Nick Banks, Texas A&M

DH/UTL - Wade Wass, Alabama

P - Ross Mitchell, Mississippi State

P - Carson Fulmer, Vanderbilt

RP - Joel Seddon, South Carolina




1B - Peter Alonso, Florida

2B - JaVon Shelby, Kentucky

3B - John Sternagel, Florida

SS – Errol Robinson, Ole Miss

C - Gavin Collins, Mississippi State

OF – Nick Banks, Texas A&M

OF - Bryan Reynolds, Vanderbilt

OF - Andrew Benintendi, Arkansas

DH/UTL - Nick Senzel, Tennessee

P – Logan Shore, Florida

P - Keegan Thompson, Auburn

RP - Thomas Burrows, Alabama




P - Aaron Nola, LSU;

Carson Fulmer, Vanderbilt

1B - Eric Fisher, Arkansas

2B - Brett Pirtle, Mississippi State

SS - Seth Heck, Mississippi State

3B - Joey Pankake, South Carolina

C - Jake Wise, Arkansas;

Grayson Greiner, South Carolina

OF - Austin Cousino, Kentucky

OF - Tanner English, South Carolina

OF - Andrew Stevenson, LSU

Comments News Comments

Post new Comment