LSU's Odell Beckham, Jr. earns spot on Biletnikoff Award watch list

LSU's Odell Beckham, Jr. earns spot on Biletnikoff Award watch list
Photo provided by LSU

POSTED: Tuesday, July 16, 2013 - 2:00pm

UPDATED: Tuesday, July 16, 2013 - 4:49pm

LSU junior wide receiver Odell Beckham, Jr. is one of 75 players from across the nation who have been named to the watch list for the Biletnikoff Award, which is presented annually to the most outstanding receiver in college football, the Tallahassee Quarterback Club announced on Tuesday.

Beckham Jr., a native of New Orleans, is one 13 Southeastern Conference wideouts on the list. Beckham joins five other LSU players on individual award watch lists this preseason.

The award recipient is selected by the Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee, a group of over 200 prominent college football journalists, commentators, and former receivers. Receivers may be added to the watch list as their season performances dictate.

Beckham, Jr. hauled in a team-high 713 yards receiving as a sophomore in 2012, and he was second in receptions with 43. He ranked 13th in the league in receiving yards per game with 54.3. He has averaged 12.9 yards every time he touches the football and he’s accounted for 1,784 all-purpose yards on 138 attempts in his two previous seasons.

The 2013 Biletnikoff Award winner will be presented live Dec. 12 on the ESPN Home Depot College Football Awards Show from Walt Disney World. The award has been presented every year since 1994. LSU captured the honor in 2001 during Josh Reed’s All-American season.

2013 Biletnikoff Award Pre-season Watch List (listed in alphabetical order)

Player School Year

  • Jared Abbrederis Wisconsin SR
  • Davante Adams Fresno State SO
  • Nelson Agholor USC SO
  • Alex Amidon Boston College SR
  • Odell Beckham, Jr. LSU JR
  • Kenny Bell Nebraska JR
  • Michael Bennett Georgia JR
  • Chris Boyd Vanderbilt JR
  • Corey Brown Ohio State SR
  • Aaron Burbridge Michigan State SO
  • Damiere Byrd South Carolina JR
  • Michael Campanaro Wake Forest SR
  • Brandon Carter TCU JR
  • Brandon Coleman Rutgers JR
  • Brandin Cooks Oregon State JR
  • Amari Cooper Alabama SO
  • Jamison Crowder Duke JR
  • DaVaris Daniels Notre Dame JR
  • Quinshad Davis North Carolina SO
  • Mike Davis Texas SR
  • Titus Davis Central Michigan JR
  • Stefon Diggs Maryland SO
  • Phillip Dorsett Miami JR
  • William Dukes FAU JR
  • Quinton Dunbar Florida SO
  • Bruce Ellington South Carolina JR
  • Mike Evans Texas A&M SO
  • Shaquelle Evans UCLA SR
  • Austin Franklin New Mexico StateJR
  • Jeremy Gallon Michigan SR
  • Keyarris Garrett Tulsa JR
  • Ryan Grant Tulane SR
  • Rashad Green FSU JR
  • Dorial Green-Beckham Missouri SO
  • Deontay Greenberry Houston SO
  • Noel Grigsby San Jose State SR
  • Je’Ron Hamm Louisiana-MonroeSR
  • Justin Hardy East Carolina JR
  • Chris Harper California SO
  • Robert Herron Wyoming SR
  • Cody Hoffman BYU SR
  • Josh Huff Oregon SR
  • T.J. Jones Notre Dame SR
  • Cody Latimer Indiana JR
  • Marqise Lee USC JR
  • Jordan Leslie UTEP JR
  • Jordan Matthews Vanderbilt SR
  • J.D. McKissic Arkansas State SO
  • Trey Metoyer Oklahoma SO
  • Matt Miller Boise State JR
  • Malcolm Mitchell Georgia JR
  • Donte Moncrief Ole Miss JR
  • Tracy Moore Oklahoma State SR
  • Alex Neutz Buffalo JR
  • Kevin Norwood Alabama SR
  • DeVante Parker Louisville JR
  • Charone Peake Clemson JR
  • Bernard Reedy Toledo SR
  • Tevin Reese Baylor SR
  • Paul Richardson Colorado JR
  • Allen Robinson Penn State JR
  • Shaq Roland South Carolina SO
  • Alonzo Russell Toledo SO
  • Jalen Saunders Oklahoma SR
  • Jaxon Shipley Texas JR
  • Tommy Shuler Marshall SO
  • Devin Smith Ohio State JR
  • Willie Snead Ball State JR
  • Josh Stewart Oklahoma State JR
  • Devin Street Pittsburgh JR
  • Eric Thomas Troy SR
  • Jordan Thompson West Virginia FR
  • Eric Ward Texas Tech SR
  • Sammy Watkins Clemson JR
  • Brandon Wimberly Nevada SR

2013 LSU Football on Pre-season Watch Lists

  • Maxwell Award: Zach Mettenberger
  • Bednarik Award: Lamin Barrow, Anthony Johnson, Craig Loston
  • Outland Trophy: La’el Collins, Anthony Johnson
  • Bronko Nagurski Trophy: Anthony Johnson, Craig Loston
  • Jim Thorpe Award: Craig Loston
  • Butkus Award: Lamin Barrow
  • Lombardi Award: La’el Collins, Anthony Johnson
  • Biletnikoff Award: Odell Beckham Jr.

Comments News Comments

Post new Comment