Governor Jindal announced appointments to the Louisiana Board of Ethic

Governor Jindal announced appointments to the Louisiana Board of Ethic
Louisiana Politics

POSTED: Saturday, March 31, 2012 - 6:30am

UPDATED: Saturday, March 31, 2012 - 6:34am

The Louisiana Board of Ethics serves to administer and enforce conflicts of interest legislation, campaign finance disclosure requirements, and lobbyist registration and disclosure laws, to achieve compliance by governmental officials, public employees, candidates, and lobbyists and to provide public access to disclosed information.

According to statute, the board is comprised of 11 members, seven of which are gubernatorial appointments and are selected from nominations submitted by the presidents of the Louisiana Association of Independent Colleges and Universities, Inc. (LAICU).

The presidents of LAICU must submit no less than three names of eligible nominees for each congressional district. The independent colleges of Louisiana include: Centenary College, Dillard University, Louisiana College, Loyola University, New Orleans Baptist Theological Seminary, Our Lady of Holy Cross College, Our Lady of the Lake College, Saint Joseph Seminary College, Tulane University, and Xavier University.

Additionally, each gubernatorial appointment must come from a separate congressional district, and three must be attorneys licensed to practice in Louisiana for at least eight years.

Appointments to the Louisiana Board of Ethics:

Jean Ingrassia, of Gonzales, is a retired attorney who practiced for thirty-five years, and served as a United States Administrative law Judge from 1994 to 2006. She is also a member of the National Active and Retired Federal Employees Association and is an associate member of the Baton Rouge Bar Association. Ingrassia will be reappointed to serve as a representative of the 3rd Congressional District, as required by statute.

Steve Lemke, of New Orleans, serves at the New Orleans Baptist Theological Seminary as Provost, a professor of Philosophy and Ethics, the McFarland Chair of Theology, the Director of the Baptist Center for Theology and Ministry, and the Editor of the Journal for Baptist Theology and Ministry. Lemke will be appointed to serve as a representative of the 2nd Congressional District, as required by statute.

Comments News Comments

Post new Comment