Sheriff Ronald J. Therior announces deadline for scholarship application

Sheriff Ronald J. Therior announces deadline for scholarship application

POSTED: Saturday, May 5, 2012 - 7:00am

UPDATED: Saturday, May 5, 2012 - 7:04am

Once again this year, Sheriff Ronald J. Theriot will be awarding three $1000.00 College Scholarships. These scholarships will be awarded to one Senior at each of the following schools: Breaux Bridge High School, St. Martinville High School, and Cecilia High School. Applications will be distributed to these schools and will also be available at the St. Martin Parish Sheriff’s Office located at 400 St. Martin Street, St. Martinville, and at the CIT Building (next to the Sub-Station) located at 437 W. Mills Avenue, Breaux Bridge. 

Criteria for applying for the 2012 Ronald J. Theriot Scholarship is as follows:

There will be no restriction on any applicant by reason of race, creed, color, age, sex, or national origin. The only limitations are as follows:
*Applicant must be a resident of St. Martin Parish.
*Open to any Senior at Breaux Bridge, Cecilia, or St. Martinville Senior High Schools.
*The applicant plans to be enrolled as a full-time, undergraduate student for the Fall Semester of 2012.
*The applicant must be eligible for admission to the school indicated on the application.
*The applicant must show a financial need by providing a copy of their parent’s 2011 Tax Return Form.
*The application must be filled out fully and have all required documents attached at the time of submission.

This scholarship is being offered to help the student meet the costs associated with higher education. Completed applications need to be sent to:

Major Ginny Higgins
St. Martin Parish Sheriff’s Office
P.O. Box 247
St. Martinville, La. 70582

They can also be dropped off at the following location:

C.I.T. Building (Next to the Breaux Bridge Sub-Station)
437 West Mills Avenue
Breaux Bridge, La. 70517

The application deadline has been extended and applications must be turned in and completed by May, 7, 2012 at 4:30 p.m. A committee of non-partisan citizens will review, evaluate, and select a winner. The names of the winners of the 2012 Ronald J. Theriot Scholarship will be announced by May 31, 2012.

Please contact Major Ginny Higgins at (337) 394-2725 if you have any questions or need any further information regarding the 2012 Ronald J. Theriot Scholarship Program.

Comments News Comments

Post new Comment