Governor announces technology awards

Governor announces technology awards
Tech Corner

POSTED: Wednesday, June 29, 2011 - 3:59pm

UPDATED: Tuesday, November 15, 2011 - 1:11pm

Thought leaders from across the state were honored today for their roles in helping position Louisiana as one of the nation’s fastest growing centers for technology. The Governor’s Technology Awards ceremony was hosted by the Louisiana Technology Council in partnership with Louisiana Economic Development.

“Louisiana is well ahead of the curve in terms of the technology resources our state has to offer. This is due in large part to our impressive reservoir of human capital, exemplified by those being honored here today,” said Michael Olivier, chairman of the board of the Louisiana Technology Council. “I would like to congratulate this year’s Governor’s Technology Award winners. It is their innovation and ingenuity that help cement Louisiana’s position as a leader in technology.”


Rising Star - Twin Engine Labs/ Ken & Keith Hanson

Twin Engine Labs is a software engineering firm that specializes in turning “blue sky” entrepreneurial ideas into profitable products.

Innovator of the Year (2 Winners) -Neel Sus & Jameson Quave/ Touch Studios

Touch Studios features mobile products such as App Maker that allows non-technical users to create and update their own mobile applications without the time and cost it would take to pay a firm for custom development.

Innovator of the Year (2 Winners) - Patrick Thompson/ Amedisys, Inc.

MercuryDoc, developed by Amedisys, is a web based physician portal, that allows physicians to electronically process their home health orders, have electronic access to current patient data, and track certifications, recertifications and Care Plan Oversight billing time, at anytime.

Technology Leader of the Year - Bondilyn Jolly-eMerge

Under Jolly, a new level of online communication was developed to represent Louisiana based organizations such as the St. Tammany Parish Government, Watch Systems, LLC (helping develop Louisiana’s law enforcement and the nation’s leading sex offender management solution called, OffenderWatch), The system has helped countless clients of the Louisiana Small Business Development Council, the St. Tammany Parish School Board and over 1,000 Louisiana small businesses.

University Technology Leader of the Year - Kenneth J. Eilertsen, Ph. D., Pennington Biomedical Research

Dr. Eilertsen is a co-founder of NuPotiental, a firm working to discover novel methods for restoring normal somatic cells to a state where they can be differentiated into completely new cell types. The data generated by this effort has been used to file both provisional and utility patents covering Dr. Eilertsen’s technology for reprogramming and small molecule drug development and discovery.

Technology Company of the Year - AXI Education Solutions-Terri & Dale Viola

Specializes in fully integrated education technology solutions for K-12 and Higher Education classrooms.

Comments News Comments

Post new Comment