LSU Law Center awards degrees at 2013 commencement ceremonies

LSU Law Center awards degrees at 2013 commencement ceremonies
Robert Yarborough, LSU Board of Supervisors; Chancellor Jack M. Weiss; La Supreme Court Chief Justice Bernette Joshua Johnson.
Good News!

POSTED: Friday, May 31, 2013 - 7:30pm

UPDATED: Friday, May 31, 2013 - 7:34pm

The LSU Paul M. Hebert Law Center awarded degrees to 213 students during Commencement ceremonies held today at the Pete Maravich Assembly Center. Louisiana Supreme Court Chief Justice Bernette Joshua Johnson (’69) delivered the keynote address to the graduates.

Some 210 students received the Juris Doctor and Graduate Diploma in Comparative Law, and three students received the Master of Laws degree, according to Chancellor Jack M. Weiss. Robert Yarborough, Chair-Elect of the LSU Board of Supervisors, conferred degrees on behalf of the Board.
Chief Justice Johnson told the graduates, “Your professional life commences today.”

She spoke of “life lessons” and encouraged the class to treat others in the same manner they would like to be treated. Chief Justice Johnson also talked of the importance of honesty, the value of giving back to the community, and always making time for family. “You will have challenges and opportunities to make a difference. Will you have the courage to stand up and make a difference?” asked Chief Justice Johnson of the graduates.

Chancellor Weiss told the Class of 2013, “My fervent wish for you is this: may the LSU Law diploma that you are about to receive be the passport to your dreams. And, may you have the courage, the love, and the support to cling to your dreams and to follow those dreams wherever they may lead you. . .”

Four students—Katherine Leigh Cicardo, Justin John Marocco, Kevin William Welsh, and Joseph Thomas Wilson—graduated Summa Cum Laude, ranking within the top two percent of the graduating class. Twenty-two students graduated Magna Cum Laude, and 29 students graduated Cum Laude.

Twenty-one students were elected to membership in The Order of the Coif, a national honorary law fraternity that elects to membership students from the highest ten percent of the senior class. Inductees were honored in separate ceremonies at the Law Center prior to commencement. Louisiana Supreme Court Chief Justice Bernette Johnson was named Honorary Member of The Order of the Coif.

Also joining in this year’s commencement ceremonies were members of the LSU Law Center Class of 1963, this year’s Golden Graduates.


Comments News Comments

Post new Comment