Satellite Satellite

3 Louisiana 2-year colleges eligible for $1M Aspin Prize

3 Louisiana 2-year colleges eligible for $1M Aspin Prize
MGN Online
Good News!
Monday, February 10, 2014 - 6:04pm

Three of Louisiana’s Community and Technical Colleges are among 150 two-year colleges across the country eligible for the 2015 Aspen Prize for Community College Excellence.

Northwest Louisiana Technical College (NWLATC) in Minden; South Louisiana Community College (SLCC) in Lafayette; and SOWELA Technical Community College in Lake Charles were notified last week of the honor.

The $1 million Prize, awarded every two years, is the nation’s signature recognition of high achievement and performance among America’s community and technical colleges and recognizes institutions for exceptional student outcomes in four areas: student learning, certificate and degree completion, employment and earnings, and high levels of access and success for minority and low-income students.

The Aspen Institute identified the top 150 community colleges through an assessment of institutional performance, improvement, and equity on student retention and completion measures. They were selected from a national pool of over 1,000 public two-year colleges using publicly available data on student outcomes.

NWLATC, SLCC , SOWELA and other eligible two-year colleges have been invited to submit applications containing detailed data on degree/certificate completion (including progress and transfer rates), labor market outcomes (employment and earnings), and student learning outcomes. Each must demonstrate that they deliver exceptional student results for all students – including those from racial minority and/or low-income backgrounds – and also use data to inform decisions and continually improve over time.

Ten finalists will be named in fall 2014. The Aspen Institute will then conduct site visits to each of the finalists and collect additional quantitative data, including employment and earnings data from states and transfer data from the National Student Clearinghouse. A distinguished Prize Jury will select a grand prize winner and a few finalists with distinction in early 2015. 

Comments News Comments

Post new Comment