LSU board unanimously selects new Chairman-Elect

LSU board unanimously selects new Chairman-Elect

POSTED: Friday, March 16, 2012 - 8:30pm

UPDATED: Friday, March 16, 2012 - 8:34pm

Robert “Bobby” Yarborough of Baton Rouge, the LSU Board of Supervisors Member at Large, Friday was unanimously elected Chairman-Elect of the 16 member governing board for the 2012-2013 Academic Year.

Nominated by fellow Board Member R. Blake Chatelain of Alexandria, Yarborough, Chief Executive Officer and Co-Owner of Manda Fine Meats, was named Chair-Elect without opposition by his fellow supervisors, succeeding Hank Danos of Larose, who became chairman in December, following the death of then Chairman Ben Mount of Lake Charles.

Under LSU board rules, board chairs customarily serve one-year terms. Because Danos is serving out Mount’s unexpired term, however, Danos will remain head of the board on August 1 for another year when his normal term would have begun. Yarborough, meanwhile, ascends to the LSU Board’s top spot for the 2013-2014 Academic Year.

Governor Bobby Jindal appointed Yarborough to the LSU Board in June 2010. In addition to beingChair-Elect, Yarborough also will continue to serve as Chairman of the University Medical Center governing board in New Orleans that is supervising construction of the new $1.1 billion academic medical center, which is slated for completion in 2015.

Comments News Comments

Post new Comment