Louisiana Young Heroes Award winners announced today


POSTED: Wednesday, April 18, 2012 - 3:45pm

UPDATED: Wednesday, April 18, 2012 - 7:20pm

The Louisiana Public Broadcasting Association and Rotary Club of Baton Rouge honored 8 winners of the 2012 Louisiana Young Heroes Award today.

The award recognizes students in Grades 7-12 who get good grades, serve their community and have overcome adversity aspiring others.

Governor Bobby Jindal declared today, April 18, as Young Hero Day in Louisiana to honor those students.

The students spent the day touring LSU and meeting with state and city leaders.

Five of the winners go to school here in the Baton Rouge area, including Jian Massucco, 17, a junior at Baton Rouge Magnet High School.

"I encourage people to get involved,” said Massuco. “Do something that will make a difference, because we live in such a world with so many different things going on and there is always something you can do to help even if it's a little."

Other students that received the Louisiana Young Heroes Award include:

- Sarah Brady, 17, a senior at Haynes Academy for Advanced Studies in Metairie
- Katie Browne, 18, a senior at Zachary High in Zachary
- Elijah Evans, 14, an 8th grader at Youngsville School in Youngsville
- Dylan Scott Vaughn, 16, a junior at the Louisiana School for the Visually Impaired in Baton Rouge
- Nathaniel Hearn, 18, a senior at the Dunham School in Baton Rouge
- Gabe Hilliard, 17, a senior at Denham Springs High School in Denham Springs
- Karissa Robertson, 17, a senior at North Caddo Magnet High School in Vivian

This is the 17th year for the Louisiana Young Heroes Awards. The eight winners were selected out of 127 nominations sent in from around the state.  

Comments News Comments

Post new Comment